Latest News

Australia Too Strong In Oceania Historic Road Race Cup

Oceania Wrap PR Strip

Australia have defeated New Zealand for the second year in a row in the FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup at the 25th AMCN International Island Classic at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit over the Australia Day long weekend.

The FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup is organized by FIM Oceania, whose role is to represent the International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) in the region and showcase great racing.  It is a standalone competition with all team points accumulated by Australia and New Zealand in the four-race MV Agusta International Challenge counting towards the Oceania scorecard.

2-time World Superbike champion, Troy Corser led the 2018 Australian Oceania team to their 366-point victory over New Zealand. Joining the Phillip Island master included Steve Martin, Shawn Giles, Cameron Donald, Beau Beaton, Paul Byrne, Scott Webster and Ken Watson. The Ken Wootton Perpetual Trophy recipient, David Johnson scored a staggering 158 points of the total team points rounded out the Aussie squad.  

Team New Zealand was led by 44-year old Damien Kavney who made his 13th Island Classic appearance at the 25th anniversary event, topping the time sheets for the Kiwi’s on 89 points. Kavney was closely followed by last minute entrant, Brendan Wilson on 82 points. The New Zealand team was rounded out by Island Classic regulars Glenn Hindle, Simon Richards and Duncan Coutts with Trevor Taylor, Kerry Wilton, Alistair Wilton and Mat Ineson joining the side.

The FIM Oceania Historic Road Race Cup will return for the third time to the International Island Classic in 2019. 


Captain: Rex Wolfenden
11 Troy Corser Honda Harris F1 1982 1150 139
99 Steve Martin Suzuki Katana 1294 1982 1294 123
19 Shawn Giles Suzuki Katana 1294 1982 1294 122
186 Beau Beaton Irving Vincent 1982 1300 126
86 Cam Donald Irving Vincent 1982 1300 26
52 Paul Byrne McIntosh Suzuki 1982 1260 139
3 David Johnson Suzuki XR69 1982 1100 158
76 Scott Webster Suzuki Harris 1980 1200 74
39 Ken Watson Yamaha TZ31 1978 750 20



Captain: Duncan Coutts
50 Glen Hindle Suzuki XR69 1982 1170 68
10 Damien Kavney Suzuki XR69 1982 1260 89
55 Trevor Taylor Yamaha TZ500H 1981 498 -
211 Simon Richards Suzuki CMR XR69 1982 1170 27
31 Kerry Wilton Yamaha TZ350F 1979 410 -
335 Duncan Coutts Yamaha CMR F1 1984 1251 53
27 Mat Ineson Suzuki GSX 1982 1135 25
25 Alistair Wilton Yamaha TZ750 1979 746 -
52 Brendan Wilson Harris XR69 1920 1177 82

check ins at Phillip Island
Instagram followers